Amavi 1

In the beginning of 2020, six entrepreneurs founded AMAVI Capital. This European investment fund focuses on real estate technology, also known as PropTech. Arne Allewaert, who helped start up ION and helped it to grow, is one of them. Although he is making a new start with AMAVI, he is sticking by his existing values regarding innovation, entrepreneurship, and sustainability. Together with his partner Frederic Van den Weghe, he explains why they believe in real estate technology.

We have created an ecosystem where the oldschool real estate world can connect with the new-school real estate technology.
Arne Allewaert
Amavi2

How do you define real estate technology?

Frederic: “Real estate technology is about digitization and innovation in all of the real estate and construction sectors’ processes. This ranges from prospecting for land, through the construction and sales processes to the management and use of a building. One example is a Paris company that collects data such as prices, demographics, and permissible construction heights and depths. They combine these data to develop a tool that lets you search for the most interesting plots throughout France. For example, there may be a plot of land with a three-storied building, in a place where the law allows you to build one with six. This tool will then automatically generate building volumes, make financial feasibility studies, and also contains the contact details of the landowners.”

Where does the idea of investing in that sector come from?

Arne: “Everyone knows we are not sustainable today. The construction and real estate sectors are responsible for 40% of global emissions. More and more companies realize that it’s time for a change. Real estate technology can help find sustainable construction methods or reduce energy and water consumption in buildings. We recognize that the real estate sector is the next one that needs to innovate, so digitization is almost a no-brainer. We like to compare PropTech with the FinTech movement of recent years. After all, online banking and contactless payments are now the new normal.”

What kind of investors are you aiming at?

Arne: “AMAVI is bringing together real estate, technology, and private equity. Our investors can also be found at that intersection, from real estate developers to construction companies and technology companies to more traditional investors. They are companies that already have a sense of innovation. We don't want to be a fund that merely raises capital, makes investments, and yields returns. AMAVI wants to create an ecosystem where the old-school real estate world can connect with the new-school real estate technology. The investors will also assess their own investments, which makes it very relevant.

You started in the midst of the coronavirus crisis. How did that go?

Frederic: “Of course, last year’s investment climate was a lot better, but there’s still a lot of interest. The investment market is not static but is shifting its focus. The coronavirus crisis has accelerated technological changes. For example, take the notarial profession. For many years, it was impossible to buy real estate without being physically present at the table. You can now give an electronic power of attorney and buy or sell via videocall in just a few weeks’ time. The COVID-19 crisis certainly has made real estate technology more interesting.”

Bundling of expertise

AMAVI has shareholders from three relevant sectors. Davy Demuynck, Kristof Vanfleteren and Arne Allewaert come from the real estate world. Frederic Van de Weghe and Paul Thiers have expertise in private equity, and Jonas Dhaenens has proven experience in the technology sector.

Share with others

Amavi 1

Au début de 2020, six entrepreneurs ont fondé AMAVI Capital : un fonds d’investissement européen qui se concentre sur la technologie immobilière, également appelée proptech. L’un d’entre eux est Arne Allewaert, qui a aidé à lancer ION et a contribué à la croissance de l’entreprise. Avec AMAVI, il se lance dans une nouvelle aventure, mais s’en tient aux mêmes valeurs : innovation, entrepreneuriat et durabilité. Arne Allewaert et son associé Frederic Van den Weghe nous expliquent pourquoi ils croient en la proptech.

Nous formons un écosystème pour relier le monde immobilier de la vieille école à celui de la proptech de la nouvelle école.
Arne Allewaert
Amavi2

Comment définissez-vous la proptech ?

Frederic : « La proptech englobe la numérisation et l’innovation dans tous les processus du secteur de l’immobilier et de la construction. Elle va de la prospection de terrains à la gestion et à l’utilisation d’un bâtiment, en passant par le processus de construction et de vente. Exemple concret, à Paris, une entreprise collecte des données telles que les prix, les données démographiques et les hauteurs et profondeurs de construction autorisées. En combinant ces données, elle a développé un outil qui permet de rechercher les terrains les plus intéressants dans tout la France. Elle peut ainsi trouver un terrain accueillant actuellement une construction à trois étages et sur lequel la loi autorise à en construire six. Cet outil génère automatiquement les volumes de construction, réalise une étude de faisabilité financière et reprend également les coordonnées du propriétaire du terrain. »

D’où vient l’idée d’investir dans ce secteur ?

Arne : « Tout le monde sait que notre secteur n’est pas durable. En effet, 40 % des émissions mondiales proviennent du secteur de la construction et de l’immobilier. Il est temps de changer la donne, et de plus en plus d’entreprises s’en rendent compte. La proptech aide à trouver des manières durables de construire ou de réduire la consommation d’énergie et d’eau dans les bâtiments. Il semble évident que l’immobilier soit le prochain secteur à devoir innover et donc numériser. Nous aimons le comparer au mouvement de la fintech de ces dernières années. Les opérations bancaires en ligne et les paiements sans contact sont devenus la nouvelle norme. »

Quel type d’investisseurs ciblez-vous ?

Arne : « AMAVI rassemble l’immobilier, la technologie et le capital-investissement. Nos investisseurs se trouvent donc à l’intersection de ces domaines. Il s’agit de promoteurs et d’entreprises de construction, ainsi que d’entreprises technologiques et d’investisseurs plus traditionnels. Dans tous les cas, ce sont des entreprises qui ont le sens de l’innovation. Nous voulons être plus qu’un simple fonds, dans le sens où nous levons des capitaux, investissons et offrons un rendement. AMAVI veut former un écosystème pour relier le monde immobilier de la vieille école à celui de la proptech de la nouvelle école. Les investisseurs testeront en outre leurs propres investissements, ce qui rend l’opération très pertinente. »

Vous vous êtes lancés en pleine crise du coronavirus. Comment cela s’est-il passé ?

Frederic : « Le climat d’investissement était évidemment meilleur l’année dernière, mais le marché suscite encore beaucoup d’intérêt. Le marché de l’investissement n’est pas statique, mais son objectif change. La crise du coronavirus a accéléré les changements technologiques. Notamment au sein des études notariales. Pendant des années, il était impossible d’acheter des biens immobiliers sans y être présent physiquement. Il est désormais possible, en quelques semaines, de donner une procuration numérique et d’acheter (ou de vendre) par vidéoconférence. La crise du coronavirus ne rend donc pas la proptech moins intéressante, bien au contraire. »

Mise en commun des expertises

AMAVI dispose d’actionnaires issus de trois secteurs pertinents. Davy Demuynck, Kristof Vanfleteren et Arne Allewaert viennent du monde de l’immobilier. Frederic Van de Weghe et Paul Thiers ont de l’expérience dans le domaine du capital-investissement et Jonas Dhaenens a fait ses preuves dans le secteur technologique.