Podcast IRP

In 2020, Belgian real-estate prices increased at an unprecedented pace. The average price of a house rose by no less than 5.7% to an average of €276,993. That is about €15,000 more than the average price in 2019 and the highest increase in 15 years. That’s what we’re going to discuss in this podcast. Welcome. The real-estate market for institutional investors. We have three speakers today.

Sam Bordon, Investment Director at ION and manager of the ION Residential Platform (IRP). Line Verroken, Senior Investment Manager at CBRE Global Investment Partners. And finally, Jasper Petit, Senior Portfolio Manager Europe at Bouwinvest. 

Jasper Petit

Jasper, you're calling in from the Netherlands. Unfortunately, we were unable to welcome you live in the studio, but we can hear you well. Can you hear us well too?

Jasper: Absolutely! I'm sorry I couldn’t join you in Brussels.

No problem, it worked out this way.

Jasper, could you briefly introduce Bouwinvest? 

Jasper: Yes, I would love to! Bouwinvest is an international real-estate investor. We are originally from the Netherlands, but nowadays we also have offices in New York and Sydney. We are a major investor in the Netherlands, but also across Europe, in America and Asia. We try to create value sustainably in order to contribute to more liveable and inclusive cities. Our investors are mainly pension funds and insurers who are in it for the long haul and are also focused on long-term collaborations.

Line, perhaps you could also explain what CBRE stands for.

Line: Certainly. Most of our audience is probably already familiar with CBRE. It is one of, if not the largest real-estate company in the world. We offer a whole range of services such as regular real-estate sales, brokerage, valuations, and so on. Within CBRE we have CBRE Global Investors, which is the Investment Management Business of CBRE that also invests money for institutional investors like pension funds, insurance companies and so on from all over the world. Within CBRE Global Investors there is another slightly smaller group called Global Investment Partners. That's where I work. We always invest indirectly in real estate through real-estate funds, joint ventures, club deals, co-investments and so on. This is also the part of the company investing in this joint venture.

In Europe, we have about 10 million euros worth of real estate and about 4 billion euros of residential projects. We know the market well and we are now taking our first steps in Belgium.

logo IRP

Welcome also to Sam. You are the manager of the ION Residential Platform, in which the three speakers who are here today are all partners. Maybe you could briefly explain what it is exactly.

Sam: Yes, that's right. With the ION Residential Platform, our intention is to make long-term investments in the residential rental market. ION was already active in the development of real-estate projects, also primarily residential, with a view to selling them to private individuals. Today, we are very happy that together with Bouwinvest and CBRE, we have also become active as investors, which enables us to make long-term investments in a market we strongly believe in.

Sam IRP

It is the first institutional residential real-estate platform here in Belgium. Why is it being launched now?

First of all, it is important to know that the residential property market in Belgium has historically always been a buyers' market. The vast majority of residential property is in the hands of private individuals, be it the owner-occupants or private investors who own one, two or multiple flats to rent out. This is a very different situation from what we see in many other European countries, where there are large owners who own thousands of flats, manage them professionally and rent them out on a long-term basis. For a long time, there was talk of this trend coming to Belgium too. It took a while, but we strongly believe that the stars are now aligned for this trend to break through in Belgium as well.

We see several key drivers for this. Firstly, the number of tenants in Belgium is rising. This is linked to what was just said in the introduction: real-estate prices are rising rapidly. This was the case last year, but it has actually been a trend for 10 to 20 years. It has made it more difficult for a large part of the population to buy their own homes. We are seeing that it is becoming difficult, especially for young people, to save up enough money to buy a house. They therefore postpone this purchase until later in life.

We also see that the lifestyle of young people is changing. Someone who graduates today at the age of 22, so to speak, no longer necessarily wants to live at home for three more years and save as much as possible, only to buy a house at 25 where they will spend the rest of their lives. No, young people may want to start their career in Brussels and after a year gain experience abroad, searching in another house. This younger target group is therefore particularly dependent on the rental market.

Secondly, we are seeing an increase in supply from property developers who traditionally chose to sell their residential developments per unit. A block of 100 units was normally sold to 100 different buyers as this enabled them to make the most profit. Now we are seeing increasing interest from developers to sell entire blocks. This means that instead of selling 100 units to 100 buyers, they are sold all at once to one final investor, and we are one of those today.

This has a number of important advantages for the developer. Firstly, the commercialisation risk of the project is completely eliminated in one go. This can also result in the developer being able to obtain better financing conditions from banks.  Banks have become much more cautious in financing development projects during the COVID crisis, which means that a block sale can now become an interesting option for developers and it is also actively considered by various parties on the market. These developers are now weighing up the question, “Am I satisfied with a slightly lower margin if my risk is completely eliminated?” Today, this question is being asked more actively and block sales are more often being considered as the better option.

Allow me to turn to Jasper for a moment. You joined this initiative. Why?

Jasper: At Bouwinvest, we are very familiar with investing in residential property. We are one of the largest residential investors in the Netherlands, where we also have a portfolio of almost seven billion euros. We are also present in other countries in Europe, and elsewhere in the world.
Residential properties contribute very well to Bouwinvest's goal of providing 'real value for life' – simply put, contributing to more liveable and inclusive cities. In Belgium the market for institutional investors is still in its infancy, as Sam also mentioned. We see an opportunity there to share our knowledge and assets to help that market mature a bit. Ultimately, we can create beautiful homes for the tenants who are looking for them. For us, this turned out to be a great opportunity. Belgium is also a new market for us. From what we’re seeing and given ION’s experience and our partnership with CBRE, we are very confident we will succeed.

I can see Line smiling. Are you equally confident about the platform?

Line IRP

Line: I think that, just like Bouwinvest, we already have a lot of exposure in other countries in Europe and also globally. What makes Belgium interesting and what attracts us more specifically is that the rental market is not new here. Many people have been renting property for a long time in the country, especially in the largest cities such as Brussels and Antwerp, where 60% of the residents are tenants. This rental market is very fragmented and owned by private investors. This poses a great opportunity because we can take a big step towards making the market more professional. People who rent a property here also see that better quality is offered in other countries, perhaps through larger communal spaces, more personal contacts, more value… There may be someone who immediately comes to fix your boiler when it is broken, someone you can have a good conversation with… We definitely see an opportunity to offer better, more qualitative and affordable housing that is managed in a professional way.

So this will definitely also benefit the tenant?

Line: We are convinced of that!

The platform wants to make some acquisitions in the coming months. Can you tell us anything about that?

Sam: As Line also indicated, we are looking for investments in the large cities such as Brussels, Antwerp, Ghent and Liège. Cities where there is a great need for affordable rental properties. We also believe that these cities will continue to attract people in the future. Within these cities, we do not necessarily focus on a single location. A project could be either centrally located or slightly more on the outskirts of the city. Considering, of course, that affordability is very important to us, we are often reluctant to launch a project near the city’s main square and we deliberately move a bit more towards the outskirts. Nevertheless, we continue to settle in locations that offer good amenities nearby and are well-connected.

We are already considering various opportunities and we intend to make a number of investments in the short term. Typically, we are looking at projects between 50 and 150 units, depending on the location.

These include newbuild projects, so development projects both by ION and other developers, but we are also actively looking at existing real estate, existing portfolios or properties that we could acquire today.

Yes, Jasper, let's talk about sustainable property development, which is also an important objective of the platform. I think that sometimes the Netherlands are a bit more advanced in that area. Do you agree?

Jasper: It's certainly true that in the Netherlands a lot of attention is paid to sustainability. We try to pursue the Paris targets all over the world as well.

For us at Bouwinvest, that is a very important aspect when investing. We try not only to reach our Paris targets, we also believe that if you build sustainably and create cities where people can live comfortably and affordably, this also benefits the return in the long term. Our investors, certainly pension funds and insurers, also consider sustainability very important because they are at the heart of society. They invest for people who are also part of that society. We try to make this one of the core objectives wherever we invest.

As Line explained earlier, there are many people who rent out one house or one flat. These individuals will struggle more to invest in sustainability than investors who own an entire block. That is where we, as institutional investors, come in.

Yes, I see the possibilities. We already talked about young people who don’t want to settle down and buy a house straight away, unlike our parents. Line, what is your target audience?

Line: I think our target audience is very broad. In principle, we do not want to exclude anyone. Everyone can rent an IRP property. As already mentioned, we focus very much on the affordability of the property so we try not to be in the premium segment but rather to appeal to the middle market segment. We expect our tenants to primarily be young people, as Sam said, who will no longer save up as much as possible, as quickly as possible to buy a home. They will rent in a good location that is easily accessible, that allows them flexibility and where they get a good product at an affordable price. Examples include families with young children, but also older people whose children have just moved out. The latter group tend to own a house in a smaller village or in the countryside that they want to sell in order to move back to those cities, which are more easily accessible so that they only have to go out for groceries.

So I think as broadly as possible, but the focus is mainly on young people, young families and possibly older people moving into the city.

To which extent is it different for you to invest in projects on the rental market compared to the sales market?

Geena IRP

Line: I think there are some key differences. A tenant looks very much at the monthly rent: “How much do I pay per month?” Then it's up to the developer and the contractor to offer the most efficient surface area with one or two bedrooms that fits within the budget. If we look at the sales market, people are more willing to pay just a little bit more for a few extra square metres.

Secondly, a great deal of added value can be created by putting an entire building up for rent, because then it is possible to focus more on the communal areas, to create spaces for socialising, gym facilities, for example, or areas where people can sit and get together with a larger group. There are certainly differences between the sales and the rental market.

Jasper: I would like to add something to that. I think it also depends very much on the location where you build. That's what we try to do. For example, if we build in a neighbourhood made up mostly of young people, we focus on the communal areas or on this target group socialising. If we build in a neighbourhood with older target groups, we also choose to use those spaces in a different way. We try to build something that really meets the needs of the local residents.

Are there countries that are a lot more advanced and that we can learn something from?

Jasper: I want to be careful in what I say, but in the Netherlands we are quite advanced in the institutional market. This has nothing to do with the fact that we thought of it before, but rather with the context of the Dutch pension system. We have large pension funds here that have been investing in real estate for years and have built up their own real-estate portfolios. That was a very important way for them to invest their capital. That is why this sector is older and better developed in the Netherlands. There are also countries where it is more in its infancy. An example is the United Kingdom, where we invested in this same segment a few years ago. We saw that the situation there was very similar to that in Belgium. The United Kingdom also lacked the institutional product, which has been emerging since then. There are other countries like that. Every European country is slightly different, often due to its history.

Do you expect that in the coming months or years, similar initiatives will emerge in our country? You are the first, but how fast will others follow suit, Sam?

Sam: We certainly expect other initiatives to follow. In fact, a few have already been announced over the past few months. They will enter the market with a similar set-up as IRP. We see this as a very positive sign. It means that we are not the only ones to spot these trends that we have just discussed in detail. It will also ensure that the market matures more quickly, which will benefit everyone in the long run.

The need for high-quality, affordable rental housing is so great that there is certainly room and scope for multiple players to start meeting that demand. By means of illustration, we know that there are more than 200,000 people on the waiting list for social housing in Belgium, i.e. there is a need for more than 200,000 homes. At the same time, there are also a large number of people who are not eligible to rent social housing and who are therefore not on those waiting lists. The latter is a group that has problems finding high-quality rental housing and that is precisely the target group we want to reach with IRP.

What do you think is the added value of setting up and rolling out this platform?

Jasper: I think the great thing about this initiative is that we are in unexplored territory where we really have the scope to construct buildings that make tenants happy, through newbuilds, through property development. This also contributes to the cities. In the long run, there will be more demand for this type of product from tenants, once they discover it. And also from investors. It is certainly possible that several parties will become active on the Belgian market. In that respect, there will undoubtedly be a win-win situation for tenants and investors alike.

Win-win situations, we like to hear that of course. Line, at CBRE, how do you look at the near and perhaps also the distant future?

Line: We are long-term investors. We really intend to make this a success story, to truly build a big, beautiful platform here. We have an initial capacity of around 240 million euros to invest. Of course, we hope that this amount will increase further.

What do you need to grow even more?

Line: More products; good developments that can be completed in the short term.

But you are clearly all heading in the same direction. By joining forces, you are going to make this a great success. I can feel it, the world or market of tenants is going to change considerably. Innovation is important, also on the real-estate market. Thank you for sharing your insights and your expertise with us. Thank you, Sam Bordon, Line Verroken and Jasper Petit.

Deel met anderen

Podcast IRP

L’année 2020 a vu les prix de l’immobilier belge s’envoler sans précédent. Le prix moyen d’une maison a augmenté de pas moins de 5,7 % pour atteindre une moyenne de 276 993 €. Soit environ 15 000 € de plus que le prix moyen en 2019. Cette hausse est la plus forte enregistrée en 15 ans. C’est le sujet de notre podcast aujourd’hui. Bienvenue. Le marché immobilier pour les investisseurs institutionnels. Nous accueillons aujourd'hui trois intervenants.

Bienvenue à Sam Bordon, Investment Director chez ION et précurseur de la ION Residential Platform (IRP). Bienvenue à Line Verroken, Senior Investment Manager chez CBRE Global Investment Partners. Bienvenue à Jasper Petit, Senior Portfolio Manager Europa chez Bouwinvest. Bonjour à tous.

Jasper Petit

Jasper, vous nous appelez depuis les Pays-Bas. Malheureusement, il nous est impossible de vous recevoir en direct en studio, mais la connexion est bonne. Et la vôtre ?

Jasper : Pareillement ! Je regrette de ne pas pouvoir être à Bruxelles.

Pas de problème, le distanciel fonctionne aussi.

Jasper, pourriez-vous présenter brièvement Bouwinvest ?

Jasper : Oui, avec plaisir ! Bouwinvest est un investisseur immobilier international. Nous sommes originaires des Pays-Bas, mais sommes aujourd'hui également implantés à New York et à Sydney. Nous représentons un investisseur important aux Pays-Bas, mais aussi en Europe, en Amérique et en Asie. Nous essayons de générer de la valeur dans une optique durable afin de contribuer à des villes inclusives où il fait bon vivre. Parmi nos investisseurs se trouvent principalement des fonds de pension et des compagnies d’assurance qui pensent et sont orientés long terme.

Line, pourriez-vous également expliquer CBRE ?

Line : Bien sûr. CBRE est probablement connu de la plupart des auditeurs. Elle représente l’une des plus grandes sociétés immobilières du monde, si ce n’est la plus grande. Elle offre une large gamme de services tels que le courtage classique, le courtage en bourse, les évaluations, etc. La société CBRE englobe CBRE Global Investors, la branche de gestion des investissements de CBRE qui place également de l'argent pour des investisseurs institutionnels tels que des fonds de pension, des compagnies d'assurance... Aux quatre coins du monde. Au sein de CBRE Global Investors, il existe un autre groupe de taille plus restreinte nommé Global Investment Partners. C’est là que je travaille. Nous investissons toujours indirectement dans l'immobilier. Il s'agit de fonds immobiliers, de joint-ventures, de club deals, de co-investissements, etc. C'est aussi la partie où nous investissons dans cette joint-venture.

En Europe, nous possédons environ une valeur de 10 millions d'euros dans l'immobilier et environ 4 milliards d'euros dans le résidentiel. Le marché n’a pas de secret pour nous. C'est ainsi que nous entrons sur le marché belge.

logo IRP

Bienvenue également à Sam, vous êtes le précurseur de la ION Residential Platform dont les trois intervenants d’aujourd’hui sont tous partenaires. Pourriez-vous expliquer brièvement le concept ?

Sam : Exactement. Avec la ION Residential Platform, notre objectif est de réaliser des investissements à long terme sur le marché de la location résidentielle. ION opérait déjà en tant que promoteur dans le but de développer des projets immobiliers, principalement résidentiels, en vue de les vendre à des particuliers. Aujourd'hui, nous sommes ravis de nous associer à Bouwinvest et à CBRE pour nous engager activement en tant qu'investisseurs et commencer à investir sur le long terme dans un marché auquel nous croyons fermement.

Sam IRP

Il s'agit de la première plateforme de logement institutionnel ici en Belgique. Pourquoi sortir cette nouveauté aujourd’hui ?

Tout d'abord, il est essentiel de souligner que le marché de l'immobilier résidentiel belge est traditionnellement un marché d'acheteurs. L’écrasante majorité des biens résidentiels appartient à des particuliers, qu'ils soient propriétaires-occupants ou investisseurs privés, et qu’ils possèdent un, deux ou parfois plusieurs appartements à louer. Cette situation diffère radicalement de celle constatée dans de nombreux autres pays européens, où de grands propriétaires possèdent des milliers de logements en portefeuille, les gèrent de manière professionnelle et les louent à long terme. On raconte depuis longtemps que cette tendance est en train de se dessiner aussi en Belgique. Il a fallu un certain temps, mais nous sommes convaincus que le vent tourne en faveur de la concrétisation de cette tendance en Belgique.

Trois facteurs en sont à l'origine. Premièrement, le nombre de locataires en Belgique est en augmentation. Cela est lié aux constatations faites dans l'introduction quant à la forte hausse des prix de l'immobilier. C'était déjà le cas l'année dernière, mais c'est une tendance qui perdure depuis 10 à 20 ans en Belgique. Cette situation empêche une grande partie de la population de se procurer son propre logement. Pour les jeunes en particulier, faire des économies suffisantes afin de constituer un apport personnel suffisant pour acheter un logement devient difficile. Ils reportent donc cet achat à plus tard.

En outre, on constate que le mode de vie des jeunes change. Celui qui décroche son diplôme à 22 ans n'a, pour ainsi dire, plus nécessairement envie de vivre chez ses parents pendant trois ans pour épargner un maximum, puis acheter à 25 ans une maison dans laquelle il vivra toute sa vie. Non, il arrive que des jeunes veuillent commencer leur carrière à Bruxelles et, après une année, partent à l'étranger pour acquérir de l’expérience en vivant dans un autre logement. Ce groupe cible plus jeune dépend donc particulièrement du marché de la location.

Deuxièmement, on assiste à une augmentation de l'offre provenant des promoteurs immobiliers qui choisissaient traditionnellement de découper leurs projets résidentiels en plusieurs ventes. Un bloc de 100 unités était normalement vendu à 100 acheteurs différents vu la rentabilité optimale de cette méthode de vente. Aujourd'hui, on observe un intérêt croissant des promoteurs pour les ventes en bloc. Cela signifie qu'au lieu de vendre 100 logements à 100 acheteurs, ils sont vendus en une seule fois à un investisseur final, une catégorie que nous représentons aujourd'hui.

Cette approche présente une série d'avantages considérables pour le promoteur. Tout d'abord, le risque de commercialisation du projet est écarté en une seule fois, ce qui peut également permettre au promoteur d'obtenir de meilleures conditions de financement auprès des banques.
Concernant le secteur bancaire, la crise du COVID-19 l’a amené à devenir davantage prudent pour le financement des projets de développement, ce qui implique qu'une vente en bloc peut s’avérer intéressante pour les promoteurs aujourd'hui. Elle est aussi activement étudiée par diverses parties du marché. Ces promoteurs font alors le bilan : « Suis-je satisfait d'une marge légèrement inférieure si mon risque est totalement écarté ? ». Aujourd'hui, on constate que cette question suscite un réel intérêt et qu'elle commence à pencher en faveur de la vente en bloc.

Je vais m’adresser à Jasper, vous qui avez rejoint l’aventure. Pourquoi ce choix ?

Jasper : Bouwinvest maîtrise parfaitement l'investissement dans l'immobilier résidentiel. Nous figurons parmi les plus grands investisseurs résidentiels des Pays-Bas, où nous possédons également un portefeuille de près de sept milliards d'euros. Nous opérons également dans d'autres pays d'Europe et ailleurs dans le monde.

Les propriétés résidentielles répondent parfaitement à l'objectif de Bouwinvest, qui consiste à créer une « valeur réelle pour la vie » et à contribuer à la création de villes inclusives où il fait bon vivre. Notre constat en Belgique est que le marché des investisseurs institutionnels n'en est qu'à ses débuts, comme Sam l'a également déclaré. Nous y voyons une opportunité d'apporter nos connaissances et nos atouts pour rendre ce marché un peu plus mature. À terme, cela nous permettra de réaliser de beaux logements pour les locataires en recherche. C’était pour nous une opportunité à saisir. La Belgique constitue aussi un nouveau marché pour nous. Sur la base de nos observations et après l'expérience d'ION et de notre partenariat avec CBRE, nous sommes très confiants.

Je vois Line sourire, éprouvez-vous la même confiance envers la plateforme ?

Line IRP

Line : Je pense que, tout comme Bouwinvest, nous bénéficions déjà d'une grande exposition dans les autres pays d'Europe et du monde. Ce qui rend la Belgique si particulière est intéressante à nos yeux, c'est que le marché de la location n'est pas nouveau. Une grande partie de la population loue un logement depuis longtemps, notamment dans les plus grandes villes telles que Bruxelles et Anvers, où on recense 60 % de locataires. Ce marché de la location est très fragmenté et appartient à des investisseurs privés. Cela représente une formidable opportunité dans la mesure où la professionnalisation peut progresser à grands pas. Les personnes qui louent un logement y voient aussi une qualité supérieure, peut-être un peu plus d'espaces communs, plus d'agréments, plus de valeur. On s'imagine que quelqu'un vienne immédiatement réparer la chaudière quand elle est cassée ou quelqu'un avec qui vous pouvez mener un dialogue constructif. Nous considérons qu'il est possible d'offrir des logements d'une qualité supérieure et plus abordables, gérés de manière professionnelle.

Le locataire en bénéficiera donc lui aussi ?

Line : Nous en sommes convaincus !

La plateforme entend concrétiser quelques acquisitions dans les mois à venir. Pouvez-vous éclaircir le sujet ?

Sam : Comme Line l'a également indiqué, nous recherchons des investissements dans les grandes villes telles que Bruxelles, Anvers, Gand et Liège. Ce sont des villes où le besoin de logements locatifs abordables se fait vraiment sentir et qui, selon nous, continueront à attirer des gens à l'avenir. Dans ces villes, notre attention ne se porte pas nécessairement sur un seul endroit. Il peut s'agir d'un emplacement central ou d'un emplacement situé aux abords de la ville. L'accessibilité financière étant évidemment très importante pour nous, nous nous installons rarement à côté de la Grand-Place, mais plutôt en périphérie. Néanmoins, les endroits restent bien desservis avec une bonne mobilité.

Nous examinons actuellement plusieurs opportunités et avons l'intention de réaliser un certain nombre d'investissements à court terme. En général, nous nous penchons sur des projets, en fonction de l'emplacement, entre 50 et 150 unités.
Nous recherchons à la fois de nouveaux projets de construction, donc des projets de développement, tant du côté d'ION que d'autres développeurs, mais nous surveillons aussi activement les biens immobiliers existants, les portefeuilles existants ou les propriétés que nous pourrions acquérir aujourd'hui.

Oui, Jasper, parlons aussi un peu du développement immobilier durable, qui occupe également une place importante parmi les objectifs de la plateforme. Je pense qu'aux Pays-Bas, ils ont parfois une longueur d’avance, n’est-ce pas ?

Jasper : Il est vrai qu'aux Pays-Bas, on prête une attention particulière à la durabilité. Nous tentons également d'atteindre ces objectifs de Paris dans le monde entier.
Cette dimension revêt un caractère primordial lorsque Bouwinvest investit. Non seulement pour atteindre les objectifs de Paris, mais aussi parce que nous sommes convaincus que si l'on construit de manière durable et que l'on crée des villes où les gens peuvent vivre confortablement à un prix abordable, cela profite également au rendement à long terme. Nos investisseurs, notamment les fonds de pension et les compagnies d'assurance, considèrent également la durabilité comme essentielle car ils sont au cœur de la société. Ils investissent pour des personnes qui sont membres de cette société. Nous tâchons d'en faire l'un des objectifs fondamentaux partout où nous investissons.

Comme l’a mentionné Line, il y a beaucoup de particuliers qui louent une maison ou un appartement. Ces personnes auront plus de difficultés à investir dans la durabilité que les investisseurs qui possèdent un bloc entier. En tant qu'investisseurs institutionnels, c'est là que nous apportons une aide précieuse.

Oui, je vois les opportunités. Nous avons évoqué ces jeunes qui n'ont pas tout de suite la brique au ventre, contrairement à nos parents. Line, quel est votre public cible ?

Line : Je pense que notre public cible est très large. Fondamentalement, nous ne voulons exclure personne. Tout le monde peut louer un logement IRP. Je le répète, nous veillons particulièrement à ce que les logements soient abordables. Nous essayons donc de ne pas nous placer dans le haut de gamme, mais de nous adresser au segment intermédiaire du marché. Nous nous attendons à ce que nos locataires soient principalement des jeunes qui, comme Sam l'a indiqué, ne chercheront plus à économiser un maximum le plus rapidement en vue d'acheter une maison. Ils loueront à un bon emplacement, facilement accessible, qui offre de la flexibilité et dont ils retirent un bon produit à un prix abordable. Il pourrait aussi s'agir de jeunes familles avec de jeunes enfants, mais également de personnes âgées dont les enfants viennent de quitter le nid. Ce dernier groupe possède une maison dans un petit village ou à la campagne qu'il veut vendre pour se réinstaller dans ces villes, afin d'être plus accessible et de n'avoir qu'à franchir la porte pour faire ses courses.

Je pense donc à un éventail aussi large que possible, mais principalement aux jeunes, aux jeunes familles et éventuellement aux personnes âgées qui emménagent en ville.

Dans quelle mesure est-il différent pour vous d'investir dans des projets émergents sur le marché de la location par rapport au marché de la vente ?

Geena IRP

Line : Je pense que les différences sont importantes. Un locataire regarde attentivement le loyer mensuel : « Combien dois-je payer par mois ? ». C'est ensuite au promoteur et au constructeur du projet d'offrir la surface la plus optimale avec une ou deux chambres, tout en respectant le budget. Quant au marché de la vente, les gens sont plus disposés à débourser davantage pour quelques mètres carrés supplémentaires.

Deuxièmement, on peut apporter une grande valeur ajoutée en mettant en location un bâtiment entier, car on peut alors envisager un certain nombre d'espaces communs, d'espaces de vie, de rencontre, des salles de sport, par exemple, ou des espaces où les gens peuvent s'asseoir et se réunir en groupe. Il existe réellement des différences entre le marché de la vente et celui de la location.

Jasper : Pour réagir à cela, je pense que cela dépend aussi beaucoup de l'endroit où vous construisez. Nous tentons également de le faire. Par exemple, si vous construisez dans un quartier où il y a principalement des jeunes, nous axons les espaces communs ou de rencontre sur ce groupe cible. Si vous construisez dans un quartier dont le groupe cible est plus âgé, vous choisirez également une autre affectation pour ces espaces. Nous essayons de construire quelque chose correspondant au quartier.

Connaissez-vous des pays beaucoup plus avancés dans le domaine et dont nous pouvons tirer un exemple ?

Jasper : Je préfère être prudent à ce sujet, mais aux Pays-Bas, nous maîtrisons le marché institutionnel. Cela n'a aucun rapport au fait que nous y ayons songé plus tôt, mais plutôt avec le contexte du système de retraite néerlandais. Nous avons ici de grands fonds de pension qui investissent dans l'immobilier depuis des années et ont constitué leurs propres portefeuilles immobiliers. C'était un moyen très important pour eux d'investir leur capital. On constate donc que ce secteur aux Pays-Bas est plus ancien et a subi une évaluation plus approfondie. Il y a aussi des pays où il n'en est qu'à ses débuts. Citons l'exemple du Royaume-Uni, où nous avons investi dans ce même segment il y a quelques années. Nous avons constaté une certaine similarité en Belgique. Les produits institutionnels manquaient également, alors qu'aujourd'hui ils sont plus courants. Ces pays ne sont pas les seuls. Chaque pays européen est légèrement différent et ceci est souvent lié à l'histoire nationale.

Croyez-vous que dans les mois ou années à venir, des initiatives similaires seront déployées dans notre pays ? Vous êtes les premiers, mais à quelle vitesse les autres suivront-ils, Sam ?

Sam : Nous nous attendons évidemment à ce que d'autres initiatives suivent. Au cours des derniers mois, quelques entreprises ont déjà annoncé qu'elles entreraient sur le marché avec une configuration similaire à celle de l'IRP. Nous y voyons un signal très positif. Cette évolution signifie que nous ne sommes pas les seuls à repérer ces tendances que nous venons de discuter en détail. En outre, cela garantira une maturation accélérée du marché, au bénéfice de tous à long terme.

Le besoin de logements locatifs de qualité et abordables est tel que la présence de plusieurs acteurs est assurément nécessaire pour répondre à cette demande. À titre d'exemple, nous savons qu'il y a plus de 200 000 personnes sur la liste d'attente pour un logement social en Belgique, soit un besoin de plus de 200 000 logements. De même, il existe un grand nombre de personnes qui ne remplissent pas les conditions requises pour louer un logement social et qui ne figurent donc pas sur les listes d'attente. Ce dernier représente un groupe rencontrant des difficultés à trouver un logement locatif de qualité et c'est précisément le groupe ciblé par la IRP.

Quelle est, selon vous, la valeur ajoutée de la création et du lancement de cette plateforme ?

Jasper : La grande force de cette initiative réside dans le fait que nous sommes en territoire inconnu, où la possibilité de construire des bâtiments qui combleront les locataires est réelle grâce aux nouvelles constructions et au développement immobilier. C'est également un avantage pour ces villes. À long terme, il est évident que la demande pour ce type de produit sera plus importante du côté des locataires, une fois découverts. De même pour les investisseurs. Il est probable que plusieurs parties deviennent actives sur le marché belge. En ce sens, une situation gagnant-gagnant pour le locataire et l'investisseur va ressortir.

Des situations gagnant-gagnant, cela fait plaisir à entendre. Line, du point de vue de CBRE, comment envisagez-vous l'avenir proche et éventuellement lointain ?

Line : Nous sommes des investisseurs à long terme. L'intention est d'en faire une réussite, de développer une grande et belle plateforme. Nous disposons initialement d'une capacité d'investissement d'environ 240 millions d'euros. Nous espérons bien entendu que ce projet puisse évoluer.

Que vous faut-il pour poursuivre votre évolution ?

Line : Plus de produits, de bons développements qui peuvent être réalisés à court terme.

Vous allez clairement tous dans la même direction. En unissant vos forces, vous en ferez une vraie success story. Je peux le pressentir, ce monde ou le marché des locataires va subir un changement radical. L'innovation est importante, y compris sur le marché de l'immobilier. Merci de partager vos réflexions et votre expertise avec nous. Merci à Sam Bordon, Line Verroken et Jasper Petit.

Deel met anderen